![]() |
Remote Access - [ FAQ ] [ About ] [ Browser Check ] [ Cookie Check ] [ Javascript Check ] [ URL Builder ] [ Feedback Form ]
EZproxy FAQ - Error Messages |
|
|
EZproxy delivers error pages to users for certain common problems. These will usually have the libraries' webpage look and will contain information relevant to explaining the problem and provide the solution. There are a variety of common errors that occur during the general surfing of the Internet. When they occur, the web server (or web browser) sends an error page for you to view - usually without a lot of explanation. These may or may not be related to EZproxy. Whenever you get an error page, especially one that doesn't come from EZproxy, it is important you note what the error page says, the URL you were trying to access (and from where) and other relevant information. If you are unsure of how to fix the problem, please fill in the feedback form with as much detail as possible. Your query will be answered as soon as it is received. Common Internet errors are:
"404 Error" (Page Not Found) page Try accessing another database. If you are able to get in, this indicates a problem on the database-end. These problems usually resolve themselves quickly. If the problem persists or you are unable to get into any of our databases, please notify the library immediately via the feedback form. Your query will be answered as soon as it is received. Or contact the Library.
"Server not Found or DNS Error" Users may get these errors for a variety of reasons.
I was able to sign in to EZProxy and use the database, but after a while it gave me a message that I had timed out. Many databases have a timeout feature that automatically log you out of the database if you haven't interacted with it for a certain amount of time. You will need to return to the page where you originally clicked on the link for that database, and log in again if necessary. Note: time spent reading an article or composing a message to accompany citations you are mailing to someone does not count as time spent interacting with the database, and may trigger the timeout even though you are still "using" the database.
I was able to sign in to EZProxy, but when I try to access a database I get a 405 Timeout message. This happens when our server can't connect to the vendor's server within a minute or so. It usually means that there's a problem at the vendor's end. Wait a while and try it again later. If after several tries you still can't get in, please contact us via the feedback form or contact the Library.
This behavior is most frequently caused by using a web accelerator such as NetZero HiSpeed with our EZproxy service. There is a bug in IE that irritates several web accelerators, making them produce the 400 error. In most instances, an icon has appeared in the system tray in the lower-right corner of the screen which contains an option to disable HiSpeed. Using this option enables service for most users. There have been reports of users for whom this did not work. For those users, the following instructions have provided a work-around:
At this point, access to EZproxy should be restored. Other web accelerators may requires different strategies. Using a different browser such as Firefox will fix the problem and will not require the above kind of interaction.
|