ACU National Library ACU National logo

 

 Remote Access     -    [ FAQ ]      [ About ]      [ Browser Check ]      [ Cookie Check ]      [ Javascript Check ]      [ URL Builder ]      [ Feedback Form ]   

 

EZproxy FAQ - About

On December 15, 2004, the ACU Libraries started using EZproxy to provide off-campus access to licensed electronic journals and databases. A proxy server is a combination of software and hardware which acts as an intermediary between a set of users and the Internet. It allows authorized users to access configured electronic resources available through the ACU library web pages from home or on the road.

You will all remember that in the past remote access required different usernames and passwords for each of our databases or database providers. Ezproxy allows staff and students to log in to the databases remotely using their ACU username and password. Once you have logged into Ezproxy you will be able to access all our resources - no other usernames and passwords required.

If you are accessing the databases whilst using the university computers you will be automatically taken through to the databases without needing to enter a username and password due to IP recognition. However, when you attempt to access the databases from home or work using an external ISP you will see the login page below. You will notice that the username and password required is the same as that which you use to access on campus computers at ACU, ie. for students your username is your student number and your password is your date of birth (unless you have changed your password eg: via your email account) in the format of ddmmyyyy.

You will need to authenticate only ONCE per session. That is, you might choose to search an Ebsco database first off and will see the screen below. Once you have logged in you can then change your mind and search Expanded Academic. You will not need to authenticate again but will move seamlessly to the Expanded Academic interface.

Students: Please note, the library catalogue and go fetch still require a different username and password (your library barcode or student number preceded by AC for your username and ddmm of your birthdate as the password).

 

Ezproxy login screen

To access the Library Databases off campus you need to login via the EZproxy login page - shown below. This is the only way to access Library Resources from off-campus. Logging into inet, WebCT, ACUweb, etc will not take you directly through to the Library Resources, you need to login via this page also.

Ezproxy login screen for accessing databases remotely

 

As a user of Library services, what does this mean to me?

    URLs to proxied resources (E-Journals and Databases) must start with a prefix that points to the EZproxy server: http://ezproxy.acu.edu.au/login?url=
    see the section: Required format for EZproxy prefixes

 

How do I get into the library’s databases from home?

Most of ACU library’s databases can now be accessed using the EZProxy server, which provides access to almost every database that is available on campus.

  • Go to the Library Databases page on the website

  • Choose the appropriate database listing eg: Quicklinks, A-Z, etc

  • Click on the database that you want to search

  • When the login page comes up, type in your ACU Username and password

  • Click on the Login button.

  • You should then be taken directly to the database page

 

What do I have to do?

Other than ensuring that your cookies are set to the appropriate level, EZproxy should require no configuration on your part. The connection to EZproxy is coded into the Library Resources links on the library's web pages. When you click on a link to an online library resource, EZproxy checks whether your computer is on-campus or off.

  • If you are on-campus, you will bypass the authentication process and be sent directly to the resource.

  • If you are off-campus, you will be required to log in with your ACU Username and password, then you will be sent directly to the resource.

 

What are the requirements?

In order to use the EZProxy service, a few things are required:

  • An off-campus computer with an Internet connection.

  • A web browser (any browser, any operating system)

    • Set to accept "cookies", which are used by the EZProxy server, and many of the subscription resources.

  • An ACU username and password

 

What can I access?

At this time, EZproxy is used for providing ACU Staff and Students off-campus access to online resources (databases, electronic journals, etc) subscribed to by the ACU libraries. Almost all online library resources are made accessible to off-campus users this way. Just locate a link on the Library's Web Site and use it: http://dlibrarydev.acu.edu.au/databases/

Students: Please note, the library catalogue and go fetch still require a different username and password (your library barcode or student number preceded by AC for your username and ddmm of your birthdate as the password).

 

Will this work from overseas?

Yes! You can use this remote authentication service from anywhere in the world.

 

Who can use library databases?

You must be an ACU student or staff member to use the databases.

 

Why do I need to use the proxy service?

Contracts with our database vendors require us to restrict access to staff and currently enrolled students of Australian Catholic University. Access to most online resources is based on your computer's IP address. When on campus (i.e., within the ACU computing network), connections to subscription resources are automatic. Off campus access requires login through a proxy server. By using EZproxy, your browser becomes part of the ACU network, regardless of your location. When you attempt to access a library resource, you will be prompted to log in with your ACU username and password. This information is matched against the ACU login account system.

 

Why do I need to be "authenticated"?

EZproxy performs two primary functions:

  • Authenticates users as a student or staff member by requiring a login, thus ensuring compliance with vendor restrictions

  • Serves as an on-campus intermediary (with a valid IP address) by passing information between off-campus users and restricted online resources

 

When do I need to use the proxy service?

You need to use the EZproxy service if:

  • you are connecting to the library from off-campus

  • you are connecting on-campus but are using an Internet Service Provider (ISP) to connect to the web (e.g. Big Pond).

 

Why don't certain features or links in the database seem to function when I'm using remote access?

The various database vendors use a variety of programming methods on their database web sites. Some of these methods can make it hard for the proxy server to keep passing information between you and the site. If certain links or other aspects of the site aren't functioning, there are a few primary possibilities:

  • The proxy server's configuration for the database needs to be adjusted. If these features function when accessing the resource from on-campus (which doesn't use the proxy server), then the proxy server's configuration may have to be adjusted to adapt to the database's particular method

  • Problem is with the vendor's site. Like any information technology, there are often problems on the vendor's end that lead to problems with the database. These problems are generally resolved fairly quickly once the vendor is aware of them

  • Problems could also be due to your browser not working with the programming they use (Java or JavaScript, Active Server pages, etc.). Your browser's settings might be preventing certain functionality, or, sometimes, an error occurs in the browser that can't be resolved until you reboot your computer.

  • Certain content or features are not part of the library's subscription. In a few databases, the library's subscription does not provide access to all features or content on a site. In this case, you may get an error message or login screen - though it may also be that what appear to be links to those features are simply not active.

 

Why can I get into some electronic journals without logging in?

Some full text journals are freely available to anyone on the Internet, either for a limited time or permanently.

 

How do I sign into EZProxy?

If you are not using an ACU computer, then you will be prompted to sign in to EZProxy the first time you try to access a restricted resource. If you prefer, you can go ahead and sign into EZProxy now. Once signed in, you will remain signed in until you close your browser.

 

How do I know if I'm already signed into EZProxy?

Look at the URL shown in the Location or Address bar at the top of your browser. Does it start with "http://ezproxy.acu.edu.au:" or include the words "ezproxy.acu.edu.au"? If so, then you are already signed in. If not, then try clicking on a link that requires EZProxy (such as Ebsco). If it prompts you to sign into EZProxy, then you weren't signed in and can sign in now. If it doesn't prompt you but takes you directly in, then you were already signed in.